Want a boy? Alkalise.

I just saw this and wanted to share: http://ezinearticles.com/?Alkaline-Foods-and-Baby-Gender&id=2197912 and http://conceive-a-boy-baby.com/

I first heard of this theory (that to conceive a girl the pH of your vagina needed to be low and to conceive a boy it had to be above 7 – so alkaline) when I was studying nutrition. It is based on the fact that apparently the different sperm, those carrying the X or the Y chromossome respond to (nay survive in) different media according to the pH. An acid environment will kill off the Y carrying sperm and only the Xs will survive making the chances of having a girl much higher – and vice-versa. Sounds kinda nutty, doesn’t it?

All I can say, at the risk of being a bit over-disclosing, is that just before I knew I was pregnant, I developed some discomfort you know, ‘down there’ so I made an appointment with the OB. She told me it was not an infection, just a slight imbalance of my pH – it was slightly over acidic. And lo and behold I did indeed have a little girl.

Okay, okay, I know this is hardly scientific proof but it doesn’t disprove the theory, so the jury is out… and intrigued.

Leave a Reply

