Anne Lamott woke my baby

I started reading Anne Lamott’s “Operating Instructions: A Journal of My Son’s First Year” while I was breastfeeding Anya to sleep tonight. I laughed so hard I woke her up… twice!!

In some ways we are VERY different. Anne is very jaded, cynical and gritty, somehow, with a history of hard drugs, alcohol and general exhaustion, by the sounds of it. She is almost an anti-hippy in her life outlook, though she is very spiritual. From the first few pages, I didn’t think I was going to be able to relate to her as it all sounded like whiney moaning and b*tching… but then the poop jokes started and I couldn’t contain myself. Apparently the place where I and Anne Lamott meet is base humour! Who knew?!

I am still at the very start though, so we’ll see if it continues to impress and amuse me. Hoping yes – I can do with a good laugh!

One thought on “Anne Lamott woke my baby

  1. Pingback: I would snuggle up with Anne Lamott any day « The Blessing Tree

Leave a Reply

