Daddies are sprinters, mommies are marathon runners

Daddies are sprinters, mommies are marathon runners. Is this true? In our house it seems to be. K is brilliant at coming in and playing with Anya. He is a great and welcome burst of energy, especially at the end of the day, when I am tired and really ready for some relief. But stars that shine bright burn out quicker, no? (any physicists in the room?) The feeling is that Kai is fantastic at the play and helping with stuff but in relatively short bursts.

Don’t get me wrong. He does, as I have said, take Anya for a couple of hours in the morning now, often. But even then, if you were to put a camera in the room, I suspect you’d find it is an exception that proves the rule: he will play with her for a bit, then go on his iPhone, go online etc. Again, I am not saying I don’t do other things while I have got her, I do… but my point is I am with her all day. All day. There is no switching off. I don’t get to let me mind wonder so much that I am not present for Anya. I don’t get to be bored of feeding her… or at least I don’t get to let boredom affect my actions.

I am not complaining, really I am not. I have just observed that, in taking care of a child, K will often start something and get bored and that made me muse about the fact that most mommies can’t. We have Duracell batteries in us. We just keep going, ‘cos our daughters and sons need us. Even if feeding isn’t as exciting as it was the first few times… Anya still needs to eat. And frankly I still enjoy feeding her.

So, I am just noticing the differences and marvelling at, again, how well we complement each other. Hooray for daddies! And hooray for mommies, too!!

3 thoughts on “Daddies are sprinters, mommies are marathon runners

  1. I prefer to call it efficiency :)

    I thinks it’s the pratical nature of men and also the reason why when you tell us your problems we try to give you solutions instead of, you know, listening and understanding.

    In the same way I don’t feel there is much need to jump into action while taking care of Anya unless there is a problem to solve as she is pretty happy to amuse herself. Of course sometimes she absolutely and utterly needs some one to say “peek-a-boo” and there I’ll be. Otherwise I’ll be there ready and waiting to chase off any saber tooth tigers.

    (and yes this comment is being made on my watch as Anya plays with her bucket)

  2. thinking of you three as I came across this event tonight…I won’t be able to make it, and don’t imagine you will be able to either…
    Just felt compelled to share it– reminded of you, truth, love,
    Liz xo

    “Join us in welcoming psychologist and bestselling author, Alison Gopnik, who will read from The Philosophical Baby: What Children’s Minds Tell Us About Truth, Love, and the Meaning of Life at Pegasus Downtown.

    Alison Gopnik—a leading psychologist and philosopher, as well as a mother—explains the groundbreaking new psychological, neuroscientific, and philosophical developments in our understanding of very young children, transforming our understanding of how babies see the world, and in turn promoting a deeper appreciation for the role of parents.”

    16 August 2010 – 7:30pm
    Pegasus Books Downtown
    2349 Shattuck Avenue
    Berkeley, California 94710

Leave a Reply

