Our week in pictures – and the start of my 366 Photography Project

New Year, New Photography Project

I have been meaning to do another ‘365’ photo-a-day-for-a-year project, for a while. The last one got interrupted when the tiredness of first trimester pregnancy, combined with a very full work schedule meant I just couldn’t keep the creative process up anymore… But now I am so ready. Imagine my delight when Luschka of Diary of a First Child put out a challenge to other mother bloggers to join in a new venture of hers she is calling Mamatography – which is just that, a 365 (well technically 366 as this is a leap year) photography project charting our mothering year, following our kids’ growth, improving our photography skills and building community. I am in, I said. So here is my week one:

Day 1

Day 2

Trip to the Children’s Discovery Museum in San Jose

Day 3

Playing (no, not rolling) in the hay with a good friend

Day 4

Slip sliding away – I had a migraine. ‘Nough said.

Day 5

— — —

i will be uploading a compilation of photos here, every week. I’ll admit this is a lot of work and is quite daunting, right now. I don’t use no iPhone gadget to process my photos (mainly ‘cos I don’t own one!!!! – hahaha) so this is all manual, old-school, baby! And it takes time, that plus I am uploading them all to flickr, too, to play along there, too. Not sure if I can keep up both share points like this. I might have to stream line… we’ll see.

Anyway, if you want to join, too, it is NOT too late. Head on over to Diary of a First Child, sign up and start snapping away. And while you are there (whether you are joining in or not) go check out some of the other awesome mother-blogger-photographers out there. There is some real budding talent in the pool – plus it is an interesting peek into the lives of mammas all over the world. Can’t wait to see what every one is going to create and share!

14 thoughts on “Our week in pictures – and the start of my 366 Photography Project

  1. Okay, I want to say this in the nicest way possible: I don’t think you need to worry on improving your photography skills! Those are GORGEOUS!!! Absolutely beautiful (and make me sob from missing my ‘real’ camera so much!!) Thanks so much for playing along with us!

    • Aww, you are so sweet. And thank you so much for being the catalyst to this. I am desperately afraid of dropping out as I don’t know where I am going to get the energy, creativity and TIME to snap, process, upload and smooze over at flickr and then come on over and do it all again over here… as well as blog!!! Umm… something might have to give. I hope I can keep it up, though, as it would be fab to see it through – to completion.

      And thanks for the compliment but… we all want to improve, right? I could spend some time telling you all the things I don’t know how to do with a camera/digital darkroom. Cheers, though.

      Gauri

      • :) You’ll find you get into a groove – you might find you need to trim it to one picture per day, or a collage with a mishmash of images for the week. Either way, you’ll find what works for you… just hang in there :)

  2. Pingback: I’m joining in 1/366 | Mummy Of Many Talents

  3. Pingback: Photography Challenge – A theme and first subject! | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  4. Pingback: Our week in pictures: 366/week 2 « Loving Earth Mama

  5. You take gorgeous pictures!! Hang in there….I also hope I stay in the game. This is my first time doing something like this, but I love the idea. Good luck!! (from Israel!)

  6. Pingback: A Mamatography Challenge – Week Two | To Motherhood and Beyond; The Unforeseeable Journey

Leave a Reply

