Wordless Wednesday: Easter Bunny Hunt

I am breaking form (from the ‘Mamatography photo-a-day in a weekly post’ thing) and instead going for a more traditional ‘Wordless Wednesday’ format to capture the joy of Easter while it is still fresh and topical. So here is our wordless-ish Easter.

We don’t have a garden, so we ‘hid’ the eggs at a local park and let Anya have the adventure of finding them all:

The hat was crocheted by NinjaDad who not content with being an origami whiz has spread his craft domain to woolen goods :)

The eggs were of two kinds, the plastic kind which we put little gifts in (mostly some toys we already had kept back from the last batch from Nana – as they looked the right size to fit in eggs) and…

the (real, hard-boiled) eggs NinjaDad stayed up dying the night before (while I slept off a migraine) – bless him… but looks like he had fun!

Nica had fun lining them up (she loves things in straight lines – is your toddler the same?)

not a morsel of candy was had or missed, for that matter. LOTS of fun was had!

***

Did you have any celebration this weekend – Passover, a Christian Easter or a more pagan celebration of spring and fertility (like ours)? If so what did your celebration look like?

17 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: Easter Bunny Hunt

  1. Private egg hunts are the best!

    Amy and her dad put homemade coconut cups and peanut butter cups in her plastic eggs and took turns hiding them in our yard. We went to church. And that’s about it!

    • Sounds lovely. I like the idea of going to church. I mean, I love communion and community around higher spiritual purposes, so if I were Christian that is what I would be doing for sure… and man I miss my Sangha (spiritual community) most of whom live back in Europe!

      Actually I was blessed to be invited to a Seder this year (Passover dinner) and that was astounding, too! I was really touched to be included plus – never having been to one – was blown away by the spiritual messages of tolerance, compassion and the urgency of taking action to make this a better world. The text was super up-to-date and encompassing of all kinds of real, modern problems. Beautiful. :)

  2. Wow that looks like a beautiful way to spend the day. We did not do anything remotely connected with Easter and even though the religious celebration is not where my heart is a spiritual Earth centred ritual would have been lovely – I need to think forward a little!

  3. I’d like to hear more about your spiritual community.

    A college friend and I swapped spring holidays one year — she attended church with me and invited me to her synagogue’s seder — it was a great thing to do — for mutual respect and understanding and connection and social enjoyment, even without talking about whether both faiths are equally true.

    At this stage in life, husband and I both like the idea of church better than the reality. We have been in “good” churches before — none of the churches around here seem to be a “good fit” for us, which has been very hard in these five years we’ve been here. It’s hard to know how to be gracious and tolerant and inclusive and peaceful and all that, while not merely turning a blind eye to problematic stuff that does matter to us.

    • Yes, I know what you mean. I lean toward Eastern ‘religions’ myself. My parents had a spiritual teacher when I was growing up. That is my ‘normal’. But I joined different meditation/satsang/spiritual groups until I found my ‘home’. It is not, I discovered, just about the teacher, it is also about the whole community that gathers around them. Do they feel like family? Finally I found a group that I trust implicitely, where I feel I know every single one of them, even on the day we first meet. Yes, there is something in the energy that resonates (even when we definitely do not always agree – hahah). My teacher is called Mooji [http://www.mooji.org/mooji_answers.html]. He has a huge following nowadays (makes me giggle. I know him from the days we just used to gather for satsang and tea in his living room). I love him, dearly – and as I say the whole Sangha (spiritual family) feels like home.

      I am a great believer that each of us needs to find the spiritual path/group that is right for *us*. :)

      • That sounds interesting. I have no experience or knowledge of how the Eastern philosophies / spiritualities actually function in real life — I just know bits of them from yoga and resources on such things as mindfulness, like Dialectical Behavioral Therapy.

        What all happens in such a meeting, and / or with the community outside the official meetings?

      • Hehehe. Not sure I would know where to start to explain it to you. Did you click the link for Mooji’s website. You could check out one of his satsangs. Literally satsang means to sit or associatate with Truth. I guess it would be most similar to a sermon… except it is totally meant to be a) experiential and b) interactive. Hmm… did that make sense?! The idea is that you are pushed (effortlessly) into a direct experience of your true Self (that which transcends the body, the mind, the feelings, etc.). If you are ‘struggling’ with this in any way that usually comes up in the form of doubts, questions or objections – which you are encouraged to bring up to the teacher (or guru – I know this word has negative connotations for many people today, but originally guru means ‘the remover of darkness’ or doubt which is exactly what he/she does). A true guru is one who removes any doubt as to the nature of your true Self.

        Not sure what else to tell you about what happens there. I would say love happens there. Trust, opening, BEING, happens there. Issues comes up and are ‘burnt in the fire’. I used to say satsang was like a sulfuric acid bath for my mind! POW. And it is gone – all silent. I can’t really speak for other groups, though. This is my thumbnail sketch of a meeting of my Sangha – but ask me tomorrow and I might give you a completely different description of that, too.

      • I took a quick look at the site. Your description is sufficient for now — sounds a little like a really good support group (I mean that in a positive way), but much less clinical. I like the idea of questions / doubts / etc as a sign, a communication of something deeper than their surface words.

      • Support group – LMAO: hahahahaah! really, that has me in stiches. I guess you could say that of all ‘religions’… and if it is a support group it is one with a higher purpose. It is really about your communion with the divine (in you – some would say).

        Hugs,
        Gauri

      • Maybe we could say it’s what support groups *should* be like… I have only been in one but it was fantastic, a safe place to be real, and to have the good stuff affirmed and the bad stuff challenged.

      • Honestly, I thought you were being funny. It is nothing like a ‘support group’, in real life. Support groups are aimed at the psycho-emotional plane, helping people to get over their every day problems – a break-up, a problem with the boss or spouse, being made redundant, having fears, anxieties, anger management issues, etc. Satsang is firmly on the spiritual plane. We absolutely DO NOT bring our ‘little human problems’ into satsang. Or in a way we do but they get quickly ‘dismissed’ in favour of metaphysical realities. I am clearly not explaining this well but trust me when I tell you it is nothing like a support group. LOL

        It is also not at all ‘new agey’. It is not about positive thinking and affirmations or anything like that. It is not about making you feel good, either. Oh, man, this stuff is so hard to talk about. How do you explain God?

        Anyway, I get that you only wanted a flavour so you had some kind of mental image of what goes on in satsang. It is about God or the soul, to put it in the closest Christian language I have (though we would not use those words, at all). If you are truly interested or become curious I would recomend reading ‘I am That’ by Nisargadatta-Maharaj [http://www.amazon.com/Am-That-Talks-Nisargadatta-Maharaj/dp/0893860220] In the meantime, hope this helps you peak in at another approach to pure spirituality.

      • Perhaps in part we have different connotations / associations about support groups! I think I see the distinction you’re making, but at the same time I think that all of life — the petty things, the every day things, the relational or work or parenting things, are integrated / flowing with / not really separable from our spiritual life. But yeah, without me taking the time to experience or watch one (or, for a more statistically representative sample, more!) of these satsangs, it would be very easy for us to just talk past one another. Maybe sometime soon I’ll feel up to watching — I rarely watch videos, preferring to read text — or maybe I’ll look for the book.

  4. Pingback: Mamatography/week 14: Easter week « Loving Earth Mama

Leave a Reply

