Mamatography/week 14: Easter week

This week (in my case, actually showcasing photos from early April) crosses a significant milestone for us Mamatographers: day 100!! This is our Easter Week. My energy and creativity were a bit low at the start of the week, but a family Easter fun-day turned that around!

Day 95

day 96

Janitors for Justice. Nica and I were out for a stroll when we ran into this demonstration. She asked what they were doing and I explained it is a protest march, that they just want to be paid a fair wage for the work they do, so they can feed their families and send them to school and keep them healthy… I started crying. Silly? I don’t know, it just got to me, the unfairness of the world that generally the people who work the hardest, most physical, dirty jobs get so little pay and respect.

Also, not to get me started on politics (toooooooo late!…) but I didn’t see a single white face among the janitors asking for equality. They were 99% Latino and 1% African-American. The segregation in this country can be shocking. I love the USA. I LOVE California but the stark contrast between the haves and have-nots and the geographical divide between them, which so often coincides with racial divides, too, is both surprising and saddening to me. All those songs about ‘the other side of the tracks’ – you just reckon it is a figure of speech when you are in Europe, and then you get here and discover it is literal. In so many towns here, you find that one minute you are in a very nice, clean, middle-class neighbourhood and then you keep driving down the same road, cross a block, and find that all the windows are either barred or boarded up. Not that we don’t have bad neighbourhoods in Europe, of course we do. We have poverty, too. But somehow it is a little more dispersed, not so ghettoised – perhaps because the cities are smaller and old and you can’t just add a new wing for new arrivals, so to speak. But also, it seems to me, I was used to more integration in London, for example. We have black, Asian, white and Chinese middle-class communities(among others) integrated, living and working side-by-side. So, it is a little surprising to find it seemingly so stratified, over here. Okay, okay, I am sure there are many exceptions and I know it varies a lot from city to city, too. But I remember noticing, after living here a year or so, that practically the only Latinos I had met since moving here had either been cleaning my car or serving my food.  I know in a couple of generations this will have changed (insh’Allah) but at this point, I am with the janitors, may they find the justice they seek.

day 97

Low inspiration day… shot this technically after midnight but before sleep so I think it still counts :p

day 98

on the way to Easter at the park:

day 99

Easter Sunday – family egg hunt at our local park. For the full photo shoot go here.

day 100 – wooohooo!

Monkey was going for a swing in his ‘car seat’

day 101

***

Are you up for a challenge? One that will take something from you every day, but give a whole lot back too? How about joining me for the photography challenge in 2012 then? A photo a day of whatever your day involved. You can jump in any time through the year!

If you’d still like to join us, you can start at any time, just sign up here and our host will email you further information.

Without further ado, here is the current list of all participants for Mamatography 2012 so far!

8 thoughts on “Mamatography/week 14: Easter week

  1. That Easter hat has to be the most precious thing I have seen all day. I’m impressed by your dedication to the daily photo. I seem to forget at least one or two every week, and if I realize I’ve forgotten just before bed, I usually just nod off anyway. You will love having this record, I’m sure!

    I appreciate your thoughts on the janitors and all they say about some of the deeper issues in our society. I don’t think you’re silly at all, and I’m sure your deep sense of empathy and compassion is something that will always stick with Nica.

    • Thank you. Did you see that my hubby crocheted that hat? Sweet, ei?!

      The keeping to the photo-a-day thing comes from flickr. I am a huge flickr fan. This is my second 365. The first I tried and stopped at 219 days :( I had to stop because I got pregnant and was assailed by first trimester tiredness which together with a full-time job pretty much took care of my day: work and sleep was all I had time for! Creativity had no room or energy from me. So, two thirds of the way in, I folded – with a heavy heart. This invitation from Luschka to start this project, was just the inspiration I needed to give it another go, this time at a slightly more relaxed pace (in terms of attempting to create original art-works, rather than just, you know, photos) but I am trying to keep faithful to the flickr spirit of trying to produce something every day, as that does push me to be more creative and build my photography skills while I am at it… and I am enjoying every minute of it. Woohoo!

      Thanks for commenting. Hugs,
      Gauri

  2. Hahaha! I thought my first comment didn’t publish because it said I wasn’t logged in! SO now you get overload of compliments from me ;-)

Leave a Reply

