Mamatography/ week 30: laundry, self-portraits and… Andy Z!

This is our early August in pictures – this week is the lead-up to our big trip to Europe, but you can tell it was a super-fun week in its own right, with a visit from Nica’s great godfather (he chose his own title – we told him it makes him sound old, he thinks it makes him sound awesome)…

Day 210

Nica’s first (official) self-portrait. I LOVE it. I say ‘official’ because there was a string of them and I chose this one. Not sure it was the first click, but it is awesome. Love the remote in her hand, too :)

day 211

drumming with a drummer:

and this one by NinjaDad:

day 212

a bicycle built for two?? I love watching these two together. They have totally different temperaments but I think that is part of why it works. He is ‘boysey’ and assertive and outgoing, Nica likes her personal space and time to get to know people, she is more inward looking and independent of spirit but loves taking inspiration from her buddy as to new things to play together (some of which she definitely does not attempt on her own :) [taken by Katy]:

day 213

day 214

at our weekly nature walks with toddlers group:

day 215

“That’s my idol back there”:

It’s Andy ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ!! (and ComoSeLama) and me!

sticky bubblegum:

sorry about the inconsistent processing (for anyone paying attention to that). I essentially am only doing Raw sliders unless I really like a photo, like this one:

day 216

helping mommy with the laundry:

day 217

***

Are you up for a challenge? One that will take something from you every day, but give a whole lot back too? How about joining me for the photography challenge in 2012 then? A photo a day of whatever your day involved. You can jump in any time through the year!

If you’d still like to join us, you can start at any time, just sign up here and our host will email you further information.

Without further ado, here is the current list of all participants for Mamatography 2012 so far!

8 thoughts on “Mamatography/ week 30: laundry, self-portraits and… Andy Z!

  1. Oh my goodness, so much to say! (I am kind of known for long comments, after all.)

    • The self portrait is full of awesome!
    • You have a beautiful girl there, and she looks so focused on her tasks. There is something amazing about the serious expression (in several pics).
    • Nature walks with Toddlers sounds like an awesome thing!
    • Her hands over her mouth / expression in the Sticky Bubblegum pic is delightful!
    • And finally, Sasha likes to help with the laundry, too.

    Thank you for the glimpse into your week. Keep up the good work… you can get there. :-)

    • Thank you. LOVE long comments (I am also very prone to them).

      Yes, I love serious faces, too. I have spent a lot of time and energy telling Nica NOT to say cheese or smile in photos. I tell her I like it natural, smiling if we’re smiling, serious if we are not. Trying to avoid the obligatory don’t-quite-know-how-to-fake-a-realistic-looking-smile-yet smiles that you get with most toddlers. :p

      Yeah, I should plug them really, seeing as I love them, but I fluctuate with levels of paranoia in terms of broadcasting where we will be on specific days. Anyway, we did this with Tiny Treks [http://www.tinytreks.com/] a local program operating in the Bay Area and Chicago – the two areas where the founder has lived.

      Yep, Nica loves to put the coins in (ours is shared) and to help put all the clothes in and take them out, after :)

      Love following your photos, too. So inspiring. Cheers,
      Gauri

  2. I loooove those photos at the Andy Z show! Nica’s face in the sticky bubblegum shot, and that last one of all the children. They’re amazing! Her self portrait is great, too. I’ll have to see about offering Annabelle a chance to take some – such a great idea. Kudos to Ninja Dad on the family photo, too!

    • Obviously the Andy Z ones are Nica’s favourites, too :D

      The self-portraiture was semi-accidental. I had the stuff out and, of course she wanted to play, so being the natural learning enthusiast that I am, I supported her in finding out what to do.

      Oh, and I feel the need to clarify that great-god-father Hanyu is not, strictly speaking family. He is not my husband. Just thought I should make that clear, for NinjaDad (aka my actual husband)’s sake.

      Thanks for popping by, again. Love to you,
      Gauri

  3. Thank you and… Yay, this is the most comments I have EVER had on one of my photo posts, I think – certainly since starting the 366. I was pretty much resigned to the fact that I was posting them for myself, nowadays. Lovely to know someone(s) is actually looking in, at times, too – BONUS.

    Love to you, grammyjinlx,
    Gauri

Leave a Reply

