Mamatography/week 31: slugs, snuggles and popsicles

Bellow are the photos from week 31 into this photo-challenge [a photo a day for a year]. I am very, very behind in uploading. These photos are from August. But I am very proud of myself because I am keeping the project up. I am still taking at least one photo every day to represent this year in motherhood. Without any further ado…

Day 218

As you probably already know, Nica is very into Andy Z, the kids performer. He has a song about camping in which banana slugs figure quite heavily. So, if you are following along, you might remember that my crafty-hubby (also known as NinjaDad) taught himself to crochet last Christmas to make some stuffed toys for both Nica and me… Well, at one of the last Andy Z concerts we had seen (and bare in mind that I am so behind in processing that these photos are from last August) Andy Z had a toy banana slug. At the end of the concert we went to take photos of Nica with him and… he had left his squeaky-toy-banana-slug in his pocket, which made him and Nica chuckle. And it became a kind of toddler/family running joke for the next few weeks – ‘oh, what’s that? Ooops, there’s a banana slug in my pocket’ (now take your mind out of the gutter, she is an innocent child and means it very literally). So…  (see where this is going now), NinjaDad decided to surprise Nica by crochetting this adorable little banana slug for her.

day 219

Nica’s nature table. I recently rescued out all the shells that had great personal meaning to me… but otherwise she is free to play with them, turn them into ornaments, cars, people, canvas – whatever comes to mind.

day 220

Nica singing ‘Row, row, row your boat’ with two of her closest friends :)

day 221

Is there anything better than a good mud-bath??!

day 222

day 223

Bearing in mind that these were taken in August… Inspired by our friend Katy, we got very into home-made popsicles. This one is Raspberry-Coconut :)  (sugar free? why of course)

day 224

So, we got Nica a ‘big girl bed’ – a very cute bunk bed from Ikea which she loves… but, uh, no. She is still very much a co-sleeper at this point. We did sleep there a few times but then she said she wanted to move back to her old bed and, well, we decided that this was something we were more than willing to take at her pace.  :)

But here is her bunk all decorated with cute family photos:

day 225

Reading with daddy:

***

Are you up for a challenge? One that will take something from you every day, but give a whole lot back too? How about joining me for the photography challenge in 2012 then? A photo a day of whatever your day involved. You can jump in any time through the year!

If you’d still like to join us, you can start at any time, just sign up here and our host will email you further information.

Without further ado, here is the current list of all participants for Mamatography 2012 so far!

9 thoughts on “Mamatography/week 31: slugs, snuggles and popsicles

    • Thank you!! Yes, the rowing one is ace, isn’t it. I kind of wish I had one from the front, though, too for eye contact but this one is fun. Doesn’t she look natural with two kids :) Nica has practically adopted her as family.

  1. That banana slug is SO cute! MUD PLAY!! I definitely need to get my preschooler into some MUD sometime. The daddy pics are so sweet. I’m a sucker for those.

    Do you find it harder to write captions when the photos are so old? Sometimes I think of something when I take the photo, but then when I write the post even 2 weeks later it is harder.

    And I’m proud of you, too! I know it must be especially hard to keep it up when you’ve fallen behind. It would be easy to quit.

    • Umm… I find it hard to write captions because the whole process takes so long that by the time it comes to the writing, honestly, I am ready to just press post (and not care about the text). Which is why I so enjoy and admire Melissa’s ‘progress updates’ which are awesome. I’d love to do that but… I take probably 4 or 5 hours processing photos for a single week. Sounds mad, I know… kind of is mad, I suppose. Then WordPress being WordPress it takes me ages to upload all the photos and format the post in a way that is at least kind of too my liking (I’d like to go fancier but who has the time… again I so admire ‘real’ mama bloggers – like you guys). So, yeah, alas, the captions are often after-thoughts.

      But I find the photos always take me right back to the moment that was captured. That is the great thing about this project, actually, right? So, remembering the action is not hard, it is just prioritising the time to make the posts happen how I like them that I find challenging. Perfectionism, you shall not foil me!!

      And, yes, well, I quit last time. I have mentioned this in the Mamatography group a few times, but I started a 365 in 2009 and did 220 days of it until… I got pregnant and the first trimester tiredness on top of a full time job just knocked all the creativity right out of me and I quit. So this time I am determined to see it through to the end (please, please, I want to complete it – shots, processing and posts) and, as I say, I am really enjoying it. I just give myself a hard time over being behind. LOVELY to have your support though. Thanks. I love seeing your photos, too :D

      • Sorry this is so delayed – I just found where I get notices of these replies! I was just going to say that I just copy / paste my previous week post for formatting and change the data, remove pics & upload new. But I’m using Blogger. Still… last year I used a sort of rough draft that I’d copy / paste that didn’t have any pictures in it yet.

  2. You and Ninja Dad make quite a creative pair! How’s bed looks like a lovely place that I’m sure she’ll enjoy in time. I love the idea of surrounding her with (pictures of) loved ones while she sleeps. What a perfect bedroom decoration!

    • Yeah, he is craftier (?) than me, for sure. I prefer the writing and the photography, as you can tell. He is more hands on than me. He also bakes :D

      Loving hearing about your project. Can’t wait for ‘next chapters’ :D

Leave a Reply

